Darling Be Home Soon

2015 年初,Bill Gates 推薦 The Rosie Project 之後沒多久,就看過這本小說的原文版,邊看邊被 nredy 主人翁的奇葩言行笑的拍案。上週末,從圖書館借了臺灣版的《蘿西計畫》,趁著連假複習小唐 Don Tillman 的調酒絕活。好笑的橋段已經看過一次,不再那麼「爆笑」,但從中看到不一樣的亮點,也是蠻好玩的。

小說接近結束,小唐從 iTunes 下載 Slade 唱的 Darling Be Home Soon 和 Satisfaction,在反覆循環的歌聲中,檢討「蘿西計畫」的得失,和「下半生」因此有什麼不同。

I retrieved my earphones from their box and returned to the balcony, poured another tequila and listened to a voice from my childhood singing that it had taken a quarter of his life before he could begin to see himself.

最後,小唐娶到了老婆,蘿西的生父之謎也解開了,但究竟誰是生父,不會再是蘿西的心病了。嗯,我喜歡 Happy Ending。

Come
And talk of all the things we did today
Here
And laugh about our funny little ways
While we have a few minutes to breathe
Then I know that it’s time you must leave

But, darling, be home soon
I couldn’t bear to wait an extra minute if you dawdled
My darling, be home soon
It’s not just these few hours, but I’ve been waiting since I toddled
For the great relief of having you to talk to

And now
A quarter of my life is almost past
I think I’ve come to see myself at last
And I see that the time spent confused
Was the time that I spent without you
And I feel myself in bloom

So, darling, be home soon
I couldn’t bear to wait an extra minute if you dawdled
My darling, be home soon
It’s not just these few hours, but I’ve been waiting since I toddled
For the great relief of having you to talk to

So, darling
My darling, be home soon
I couldn’t bear to wait an extra minute if you dawdled
My darling, be home soon
It’s not just these few hours, but I’ve been waiting since I toddled
For the great relief of having you to talk to

Go
And beat your crazy head against the sky
Try
And see beyond the houses and your eyes
It’s okay to shoot the moon

Darling be home soon
I couldn’t bear to wait an extra minute if you dawdled
My darling, be home soon
It’s not just these few hours, but I’ve been waiting since I toddled
For the great relief of having you to talk to

Leave a Reply

